An Old Favorite From Dr. Demento

MakingLove

As if you couldn’t already tell, I was a big fan of the Dr. Demento (AKA Barry Hansen) show that was broadcast out of Los Angeles and syndicated elsewhere in the 1970s and ’80s.

One of the artists the good Doctor “discovered” (along with Weird Al obviously) was someone known only as “Damaskas” to his fans (real name Tim P. Ryan.)

In 1977, his song “Making Love In A Subaru” was apparently requested quite a lot, as I remember it well. It’s decently funny, and the heavy influence of Tom Lehrer is readily apparent.

The other side of the single features a collaboration with Barnes and Barnes (of “(Roly Poly) Fish Heads” fame) dueting on a sort of mash-up of the Beatles with the Green Acres theme song. Similar to the “Stairway to Gilligan’s Island” thing from Little Roger and the Goosebumps, which it predates by about a year. No trace of this single anywhere online (not an mp3 anyway) so here you go. The record was probably the only one released on Asinine Records.

Making Love In A Subaru

A Day In The Life Of Green Acres

3 Comments

Filed under Comedy, Novelty

3 responses to “An Old Favorite From Dr. Demento

  1. Marty

    I’ve been trying to find this song for so long. I recorded some of his shows. On this show, which featured this song, someone called with a poem for Demaskas. “Demaskas, when I hear you, my head spins round. You sing so devine, it sends thrills up my spine and my heart begins to pound. I have a request to ask of you. Sing making love in a subaru. just for me. Because you see, I’m just crazy about you.

  2. Michael Lestatkatt

    Damaskas name is actually: Dan Hollombe. Oh Yes……

    • spacebrother

      I see both names at a couple of websites, but “Hollombe” is at the Weird Al site, so I guess you win, thanks.

Leave a comment